CPCS A59 Excavator (360 - Tracked, Above & Below 10T) - Experienced: 2 Days

Course content varies depending on the category chosen and level of experience of the operator (as to whether they have selected a Foundation or Experienced Worker course).

A typical foundation A40 CPCS 360 Excavator course is longer than an Experienced Worker course and goes into more detail of excavator safety training, amongst other elements.

A typical experienced worker course would include only the theoretical aspects of training.

Courses that include only the Technical Tests are also available.

All courses at all experience levels finish with the CPCS technical test, which includes both a theory and practical test.

  • Roles and responsibilities of the operator
  • Pre-use and post-use checks
  • Basic safety and siting of the machine
  • Minor adjustments, routine servicing procedures, as well as how to carry these out
  • Attaching and removing buckets
  • Transporting materials safely over a range of terrains
  • Machine configuration
  • The capabilities of the machine, purpose and limitations. This would cover machines below 10 tonnes.
  • Basic construction, principle components and controls of the machine


CPCS A59 Excavator (360 - Tracked, Above & Below 10T) - Experienced: 2 Days
Those who take and pass the A59 course for digger training above 10 tonnes will be qualified to drive both machines, meaning this is the best course if you wish to drive both types of machine.

Course options are available at both Foundation and Experienced Worker levels; depending on your level of experience. The A58 and A59 360 excavator courses tend to be longer in duration than the other CPCS courses. This is because they are complex pieces of plant and require in depth training and practice. Depending on your level of experience, Foundation or Novice courses might run over 8 days with testing on day 9, while experienced worker courses could run for 2-4 days.

All delegates need to have completed the core CSCS Health and Safety Touch Screen Test, passed in the last 2 years. Successful candidates will receive the red CPCS card in this category, valid for 2 years.